Occupational License Lawyer
People call our legal staff everyday with questions regarding their ability to obtain an occupational license in Carrollton, Texas. A person’s driving privileges can be suspended for many different reasons. The key is understanding how to lift that suspension so that you can get back to life as usual. Having a consultation about how the suspension occurred and what is going to take to drive legally is the first step. Once our Carrollton occupational license lawyers isolate the problem, our legal staff then maps out a strategy to have an occupational endorsement granted through the court system.
WHAT CAN I DO WITH AN OCCUPATIONAL LICENSE ONCE IT IS GRANTED?
An occupational license endorsement allows you to drive legally without being cited for driving while license suspended or driving while license invalid. If you drive with a suspended license and have no insurance you can be charged with a Class “B” misdemeanor punishable up to 6 months in jail. This is not worth the risk for most.
The purpose of an occupational license is to allow you to drive to and from work without the risk of being arrested or cited. This allows for you to serve your punishment for the suspension but does not completely destroy your ability to support yourself and your family in the process.
An occupational license in Texas can only be used for a maximum of 12 hours per day. Many judges will allow the 12 hours to be divided up into split times if you have a job that requires you to work or drive at odd hours during the day/night.
HOW LONG DOES IT TAKE TO OBTAIN AN OCCUPATIONAL LICENSE IN TEXAS?
The time it takes to get an occupational license in Texas depends greatly on the County you reside. If you live in Carrollton, Texas or Dallas County, this is good news. The normal turnaround for an occupational license order to be signed is usually 48hrs after receiving the required documents from our clients. Part of Carrollton is located in Denton County. This county is not as friendly as Dallas County when it comes to having an occupational license endorsement granted. You may have to attend a hearing with the occupational license lawyer. This hearing may have to be scheduled through the court coordinator depending the judge’s schedule. The normal length of time for counties of this type is usually 7-10 days depending.
WHAT IS THE COST OF OBTAINING AN OCCUPATIONAL LICENSE IN TEXAS?
The cost depends largely on the reason for the suspension. Our legal staff has made a concerted effort to make it as easy as possible to understand the cost however. Many law firms will charge a low fee for the order, but fail to tell you that you have to pay reinstatement fees, SR-22 insurance fees, filing fees, attorney’s fees. With this type of service all you get is a piece of paper and no clue what to do with it. We charge a flat fee that includes ALL fees, so you don’t get the order and never have it approved by The Department of Public Safety. Lawyers do not like to take on this responsibility, because it is a lot of work. We have chosen to accept this responsibility because we don’t want to do a job halfway. We sincerely want to help you get back on track and driving legally at a reasonable rate. We believe that after consulting with our firm, you will soon realize that you get what you pay for and the service is worth it.
Normally, all fees and costs range from $850.00 to $1000.00 total. Again, this includes all reinstatement fees and other miscellaneous fees related to the occupational license endorsement. If you would like to discuss your occupational license endorsement with an experienced legal team contact our office today.